Waste Stories 8/2/2016


Ray Wright LCC ID Badge Image

Ray Wright

1. Joint Healthcare Waste and Resources Research Group and ISWA International conference (sponsored by Grundon Waste Management)

In conjunction with the International Solid Waste Association (ISWA), the Group will be hosting an international conference on April 14 and 15, 2016. It will be held at St Thomas’ Hospital in London.

One of the speakers will be Ray Wright, who is the Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust Waste Manager, one of the UK’s largest.  The Trust’s Royal Hallamshire Hospital was one of three UK centres providing surge capacity to the Royal Free Hospital during the 2014/15 Ebola virus disease epidemic.  Ray developed the organisation’s Ebola waste stream handling infrastructure and created waste protocols for its surge capacity responsibilities.

He has been a Waste Manager for NHS Trusts in Sheffield and Lincolnshire for over 7 years, and prior to this worked as an Environment Agency regional hazardous waste coordinator.

His presentation will outline a waste manager’s personal experience of providing a waste handling infrastructure and protocols for a potential Ebola virus disease patient at a surge capacity hospital.  It will demonstrate the logistical challenges of managing large quantities of Category A waste for the duration of a patient’s treatment.

The full programme can be found here: Programme – Jan 2016

Sponsors include: Daniels, Econix, GV Health, Frontier Medical Group, Newster, Sharpsmart and ISS Ltd. (Please contact Terry Tudor: terry.tudor@northampton.ac.uk, if you wish to sponsor)

Booking details can be found at: healthcare waste 2016 conference

2. Amendments to scope of the RoHS Directive

Restriction of the use of certain hazardous substances in electrical and electronic equipment, 2011/65/EU.

Read the amendments here

3. EU Sustainable Energy Awards 2016

The SEE Awards recognise the best sustainable energy projects taking place across Europe. A wide range of organisations are eligible to apply including businesses, non-profit organisations and public sector organisations.
There are three categories for the 2016 awards:
  • Consumers – rewarding actions leading to the behavioural change of individual energy users.
  • Public Sector – rewarding public and non-profit organisations taking exemplary initiatives in energy efficiency or use of renewables.
  • Businesses – rewarding forward-thinking businesses which are exemplary in their production or use of energy.
There will also be a Citizens’ Award to reward the nominee which best captures the public imagination.
Entries will be assessed on the following three criteria:
  • Excellence and innovation
  • Impact and contribution to the 2030 objectives
  • Replication potential and social acceptance
For 2016, the project must be ongoing or concluded after 30 June 2015.
The deadline for entries is 22 February 2016.
View details of the Awards and 2016 EU Energy Week here


4. New drive for paper-less NHS

Read the story here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *